Meet the Team

Acknowledgement

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the congregations who have provided us with accommodation and food. Among them is the EFG-Flensburg, which provided enough space for all helpers, athletes and their bikes. In their premises, one could arrive relaxed and get to know each other as a group. At the end of the first 380 kilometres, the Evangelical Free Church of Heberhausen welcomed us. The last meters of altitude demanded the last reserves from some cyclists, so we are very grateful to their kitchen, which presented us with a rich buffet in due course. We say the same about the head office of OM Germany in Mosbach, who, with sleeping places, dinner and breakfast, gave the team the necessary rest. At the end of the last day of driving we were rewarded with a view of Bodensee. We are also grateful to our friends from Bodenseehof who let us stay in their holiday apartments. Also our escort team spared no expense and effort to provide the cyclists with snacks, meals and drinks during the tour.

Micha Orth

"In this time of crises, I want to use every opportunity to help people in urgent need. If riding with others is a way of raising prayer and funds, I'm happy to suffer hard! After all, what could go wrong in 50 hours of riding in 3 days?"

Micha Schmid

"I was wondering for a while already how I could do my part in supporting those who need help in this time of crisis. When I heard of this fundraiser, I realized I want to join, because it is the perfect opportunity to help the people that need it most. Even if that means undergoing the physical torture of a three day bike ride. I'm willing to sacrifice a little of my effort and strength to raise money for those who face way more existential threats right now."

Jonathan Schuldt

"Of course, my daily life has changed in the last weeks a lot but still I have everything I need. But I get disappointed when I hear about the poor people in the world and how they are affected by the lockdown. With my participation at this corona ride I want to give everyone the chance to support the very poor people and to send them a message of love and hope."

Oliver Schwidder

"A bike tour of over 1000km sounds impossible at first, especially for the novices among us. With the CoronaRide we want to support financially people in need, who are especially affected by the Corona Crisis, and motivate all others to pray and make fruitful donations".

Tobias

"The COVID-19 crisis hits the poorest people in the world hardest: financial security for difficult times, keeping physical distance, good medical care - all these are privileges of the wealthy. With the CoronaRide I want to motivate followers of Jesus to pray seriously for people in need and to give generously."

Benjamin Schwidder

"As a passionate cyclist, I was inspired by the idea of taking a tour through Germany. It makes me happy to support people who are currently in need of help. It's great that we can also tackle this challenge as a team." 

Simon Geißendörfer

"I was wondering for a while already how I could do my part in supporting those who need help in this time of crisis. When I heard of this fundraiser, I realized I want to join, because it is the perfect opportunity to help the people that need it most. Even if that means undergoing the physical torture of a three day bike ride. I'm willing to sacrifice a little of my effort and strength to raise money for those who face way more existential threats right now. "

Michael Armbruster

"Cycling has already motivated me in many ways and this event sounds particularly challenging. If there are other people you can help, I will of course be there. I am especially looking forward to all participants who are there because we are a family in faith in Jesus Christ."

Chris

"I want to inspire people to pray and raise funds for the corona-crises. Personally I am always up for a challenge, and this one sounds impossible. Therefore I want to encourage others across the globe to join us in this effort. I have a concern for our workers and work in this difficult times. So cycling a 1000km in 3 days, why not?"

Florian Bierwirth

"I love to experience adventures together with other people and to dare to make the seemingly impossible possible! It fascinates me how much is slumbering in every human being. The CoronaRide now gives me the opportunity to use this passion for the benefit of other people!"

Muhammed Al Asaad

"Cycling has always been a balance to my everyday life. But when cycling becomes part of everyday life, then something seems to have got out of hand. For all the people who are currently suffering from the crisis, I am happy to invest my sweat to wake up people with financial means and give generously to those in need."

Manuel Schmid

"When I heard about this crazy idea, I asked myself if crazy actions are needed in times like these. Covid-19 already has a big impact in Germany, but how much more affected are people in the 3rd world! If a little cycling can help people, I am very happy to be part of the team."

Robin Wagner

"Through my participation in Coronaride, I want to wake myself and others up and draw attention to the many people who have a particular difficulties during this time. I am glad to be able to support financially at least a few needy people in this way."

Immauel Barkholz

"With the CoronaRide, I would like to draw attention to the families that are currently very hard hit. If it is already unclear in the morning whether they have enough food for the day or whether parents are giving up food in favour of the children, initiatives must be taken to counteract this. Even if just one family is better off by this trip, then 1000 km has been worth it."

Über das Team

Danksagung

An dieser Stelle bedanken wir uns herzlich an alle Gemeinden, die uns mit Unterkünften und Verpflegung versorgt haben. Darunter zählt die EFG-Flensburg, die genug Platz für alle Helfer, Sportler und ihre Fahrräder bereitgestellt hat. In ihren Räumlichkeiten konnte man entspannt ankommen und sich als Gruppe kennenlernen. Am Ende der ersten 380 gefahrenen Kilometer, nahm uns die Evangelische Freikirche Heberhausen in Empfang. Die letzten Höhenmeter forderten von einigen Radfahrern die letzten Reserven ein, weshalb wir ihrer Küche sehr dankbar sind, die uns zu gegebener Zeit mit einem reichen Buffet beschenkte. Gleiches sprechen wir über den Hauptsitz von OM Deutschland in Mosbach aus, die mit Schlafplätzen, Abendessen und Frühstück die Mannschaft mit der nötigen Erholung aufrappelte. Am Ende des letzten Fahrtages wurden wir mit dem Blick auf den Bodensee belohnt. Darüberhinaus sind wir unseren Freunden vom Bodenseehof dankbar, die uns in ihren Ferienwohnungen übernachten haben lasse. Auch unser Begleitteam hat keine Kosten und Mühen gescheut, sich während der Tour zu verausgaben, indem sie die Radfahrer mit Snacks, Mahlzeiten und Getränken versorgte.

Micha Orth

"In dieser Krisenzeit, in der ich mich gut versorgt fühle, möchte ich anderen helfen, die auf Unterstützung angewiesen sind. Dafür quäle ich mich gerne, denn das Radeln wird nie langweilig! Noch besser, wenn wir das als Gruppe gemeinsam angehen können"

Micha Schmid

"Während für viele Menschen die derzeitige Situation wie eine Hürde aussehen mag, kann ich normal zur Arbeit gehen und persönliche Kontakte pflegen. Mit dem CoronaRide möchte ich finanzielle Mittel für Menschen freisetzen, die teilweise existentielle Nöte erleiden. Sicherlich wird mich die Fahrt an meine Grenzen bringen, doch es freut mich, mit einer Gruppe von Freunden unterwegs zu sein, die die gleichen Leidenschaften teilen und für andere da sind."

Jonathan Schuldt

"Menschen in ärmeren Ländern sind von den aktuellen Beschränkungen viel mehr betroffen als wir. Diese weltweite Ungleichheit macht mich traurig. Um den Notleidenden direkte Hilfe zukommen zu lassen und ihnen eine Botschaft der Liebe und Hoffnung zu schicken, nehme ich gerne die Anstrengungen der Spendenradtour auf mich."

Oliver Schwidder

"Eine Radtour von über 1000km klingt im ersten Moment unmöglich, vor allem für die Novizen unter uns. Mit dem CoronaRide wollen wir Menschen in Not, die von der Corona-Krise besonders getroffen sind, finanzell unterstützen und alle anderen zum Gebet und freigebigen Spenden motivieren."

Tobias

"Die COVID-19 Krise trifft die Ärmsten dieser Welt am härtesten: Finanzielle Absicherung für schwierige Zeiten, physisch Abstand halten, gute medizinische Versorgung – all das sind Privilegien der Wohlhabenden. Mit dem Corona Ride möchte ich Nachfolger Jesu motivieren, ernsthaft für Menschen in Not zu beten und großzügig zu geben.​"

Benjamin Schwidder

"Als leidenschaftlicher Radfahrer hat mich die Idee begeistert, eine Tour durch Deutschland zu unternehmen. Es freut mich auf diese Weise Menschen zu unterstützen, die momentan auf Hilfe angewiesen sind. Genial, dass wir diese Herausforderung auch noch als Team angehen dürfen." 

Simon Geißendörfer

"Ich habe mich schon eine Weile gefragt, was ich persönlich tun kann um den Menschen die direkt von der Corona Krise betroffen sind zu helfen. Als ich von dem Fundraiser hörte, sah ich die Möglichkeit, genau diesen Menschen zu dienen. Auch wenn es bedeutet sich einer harten körperlichen Challenge zu stellen. Ich opfere ein bisschen meiner Kraft und Zeit um Geld für jene zu sammeln, die sich in der Krise viel existentielleren Ängsten stellen müssen. Das ist es mir wert."

Michael Armbruster

"Das Radfahren hat mich schon in vieler Hinsicht motiviert und dieses Event klingt besonders herausfordernd. Wenn man dabei noch anderen Leuten helfen kann, bin ich natürlich dabei. Besonders freue ich mich auf alle Teilnehmer die dabei sind, weil wir im Glauben an Jesus Christus eine Familie sind."

Chris

"Ich möchte Menschen inspirieren, für die Korona-Krisen zu beten und Geld zu sammeln. Persönlich bin ich immer für eine Herausforderung bereit, und diese klingt unmöglich. Deshalb möchte ich andere auf der ganzen Welt ermutigen, sich uns in diesem Bemühen anzuschließen. Ich habe ein Anliegen für unsere Mitarbeiter und arbeite in dieser schwierigen Zeit. Warum also nicht in 3 Tagen 1000 km mit dem Fahrrad zurücklegen?"

Florian Bierwirth

"Mich begeistert es mit anderen Menschen gemeinsam Abenteuer zu erleben und es zu wagen, dass scheinbar unmögliche möglich zu machen! Mich fasziniert dabei wieviel in jedem Menschen schlummert. Der CoronaRide gibt mir jetzt die Möglichkeit diese Leidenschaft zum Wohle für andere Menschen einzusetzen!"

Mohamed Al Asaad

"Radfahren war für mich schon immer ein Ausgleich zum Alltag. Doch wenn Radfahren zum Alltag wird, dann scheint etwas aus den Fugen geraten zu sein. Für alle Menschen, die momentan unter der Krise zu leiden haben, investiere ich gerne meinen Schweiß, um Leute mit finanziellen Mitteln wachzurütteln, die größzügig für diejenigen in Not zu geben."

Manuel Schmid

"Als ich von dieser wahnwitzigen Idee gehört habe, habe ich mich gefragt ob verrückte Aktionen in Zeiten wie diesen gebraucht werden. Covid-19 hat bereits einen großen impact in Deutschland, doch wie viel stärker sind die Menschen in der 3. Welt betroffen! Wenn ein wenig Radfahren den Menschen helfen kann, bin ich sehr froh Teil des Teams zu sein."

Robin Wagner

"Durch meine Teilnahme am Coronaride will ich mich selbst und andere wach rütteln und auf die vielen Menschen aufmerksam machen, die es in dieser Zeit besonders schwer haben. Ich bin froh, so zumindest ein paar notleidende Menschen finanziell supporten zu können."

Immauel Barkholz

"Mit dem CoronaRide möchte ich die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Familien lenken, die aktuell sehr hart betroffen sind. Wenn bereits am morgen unklar ist, ob sie den Tag über genug Nahrungsmittel haben oder Eltern zugunsten der Kinder auf Essen verzichten, müssen Initiativen ergriffen werden, um dagegenzuwirken. Selbst wenn es auch nur eine Familie durch diese Fahrt besser ergeht, dann haben sich 1000 km gelohnt."